1989 The Most Promising Horse

Belmont Stakes has been successfully run for about a century and half. According to people who’ve been great fans, you just can’t forget some of the dominating performances and thrilling finishes. With Belmont Stakes 2014 scheduled on 7th June, 2014, we were keen to take a look back at some of the greatest moments in Triple Crown and Belmont Stakes history.

10 – 1989 The Most Promising Horse

After the Sunday Silence was able to easily win the first 2 legs of the popular Triple Crown, he entered Belmont Stakes with a strong chance to become the 12th Triple Crown winner in horse racing history. Easy Goer, his arch rival, came second only in case of both the Preakness Stakes and Kentucky Derby. He was returning to the home state, New York. Unlike other races, this one was not a close finish. It was a powerful win.

9 – 2005 Fleet Footed Crucial Winner

The Kentucky Derby 2005 was able to produce the biggest upset in the total history of the race. Jockey Mike Smith was awarded his first win by Giacomo. In the ‘Run for the Roses’, he was able to return a $2 Win bet from $102.60 odds. Moreover, in Preakness Afleet, Alex almost fell. But he was able to recover and won the race with ease. The Belmont Stakes was supposed to be the tie breaker. However, both of them were not a match for each other.

8 – 1936 The Beginning of Something Very Special

The son of a 1930 Triple Crown victor was entering the 1936 Triple Crown. He was being considered the best bet to win all the three classic races in the United States. These hopes were shattered when Granville couldn’t make a great start, and lose his jockey while coming out of the gate. A humiliating defeat in Preakness Stakes wasn’t the only problem. It’s followed by another defeat against many old horses in Suburban Handicap. In Belmont Stakes, Granville was restrained very early. He was able to make a bold move and head into the stretch to wear down Mr. Bones’ pace. He was able to win the 3rd leg of that year’s Triple Crown. Granville also won the final five starts in 1936. He was named the United States’ first Horse of the Year.